THE VIRTUES OF THE AHL AL-BAYT (as.)SAHIH AL-BUKHARI:


THE VIRTUES OF THE


AHL AL-BAYT (as.) These translations have been made without any attempt to change or modify them from the original Arabic texts.  This includes the style and blessings upon the Holy Prophet, (saw) his Family, (as) and Companions, (ra).

It is the translators intention to present these ahadith in their entirety for general consideration and he has thus refrained from any discussions about their isnad, reliability or meaning. 

SAHIH AL-BUKHARI:
Abû ‘Abdullâh Muhammad ibn Ismâ`îl al-Bukhârî was born on the 13th of the Islâmic month of Shawwâl, 194AH, in the famous city of Bukhara, of the land “beyond the canal” – present day Uzbekistan, and he died in the year 265 AH. His collection of Hadith is considered by both Sunni and Shi’ite scholars as one of the greatest contribution s to hadith studies.

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 51:

Narrated Sahl bin Sad:
Allah’s Apostle said, “Tomorrow I will give the flag to a man with whose leadership Allah will grant (the Muslim) victory.” So the people kept on thinking the whole night as to who would be given the flag. The next morning the people went to Allah’s Apostle and every one of them hoped that he would be given the flag. The Prophet said, “Where is Ali bin Abi Talib?” The people replied, “He is suffering from eye trouble, O Allah’s Apostle.” He said, “Send for him and bring him to me.” So when ‘Ali came, the Prophet spat in his eyes and invoked good on him, and he was cured as if he had no ailment. The Prophet then gave him the flag. ‘Ali said, “O Allah’s Apostle! Shall I fight them (i.e. enemy) till they become like us?” The Prophet said, “Proceed to them steadily till you approach near to them and then invite them to Islam and inform them of their duties towards Allah which Islam prescribes for them, for by Allah, if one man is guided on the right path (i.e. converted to Islam) through you, it would be better for you than (a great number of) red camels.”

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 52:
Narrated Salama:
Ali happened to stay behind the Prophet and (did not
join him) during the battle of Khaibar for he was having eye trouble. Then he said, “How could I remain behind Allah’s Apostle?” So ‘Ali set out following the Prophet. When it was the eve of the day in the morning of which Allah helped (the Muslims) to victory, Allah’s Apostle said, “I will give the flag (to a man), or tomorrow a man whom Allah and His Apostle love will take the flag,” or he said, “A man who loves Allah and His Apostle; and Allah will grant victory under his leadership.” Suddenly came ‘Ali whom we did not expect. The people said, “This is ‘Ali.”  Allah’s Apostle gave him the flag and Allah granted victory under his leadership.

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 54:
Narrated Sad bin ‘Ubaida:
A man (from the Kharijites) came to Ibn ‘Umar and asked about ‘Uthman and Ibn ‘Umar mentioned his good deeds and said to the questioner. “Perhaps these facts annoy you?” The other said, “Yes.” Ibn ‘Umar said, “May Allah stick your nose in the dust (i.e. degrade you)!” Then the man asked him about ‘Ali. Ibn ‘Umar mentioned his good deeds and said, “It is all true, and that is his house in the midst of the houses of the Prophet. Perhaps these facts have hurt you?” The questioner said, “Yes.” Ibn ‘Umar said, “May Allah stick your nose in the dust (i.e. degrade you or make you do things which you hate)! Go away and do whatever you can against me.”

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 56:
Narrated Ubaida:
Ali said (to the people of ‘Iraq), “Judge as you used to judge, for I hate differences (and I do my best) till the people unite as one group, or I die as my companions have died.” And narrated Sa’d that the Prophet said to ‘Ali, “Will you not be pleased from this that you are to me like Aaron was to Moses?”

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 58:
Narrated Ash-Sha’bi:
Whenever Ibn ‘Umar greeted Ibn Jafar, he used to say: “As-salamu-’Alaika (i.e. Peace be on you) O son of Dhu-l-Janahain (son of the two-winged person).”


Volume 5, Book 57, Number 61:
Narrated Al-Miswar bin MakhramaAllah’s Apostle said, “Fatima is a part of me, and he who makes her angry, makes me angry.”

Volume 5, Book 57, Number 62:
Narrated ‘Aisha:
The Prophet called his daughter Fatima during his illness in which he died, and told her a secret whereupon she wept. Then he called her again and told her a secret whereupon she laughed. When I asked her about that, she replied, “The Prophet spoke to me in secret and informed me that he would die in the course of the illness during which he died, so I wept. He again spoke to me in secret and informed me that I would be the first of his family to follow him (after his death) and on that I laughed.”

Volume 4, Book 56, Number 742:

Narrated ‘Uqba bin Al-Harith:
(Once) Abu Bakr offered the ‘Asr prayer and then went out walking and saw Al-Hasan playing with the boys. He lifted him on to his shoulders and said,  “Let my parents be sacrificed for your sake! (You) resemble the Prophet and not ‘Ali,” while ‘Ali was smiling.

Volume 4, Book 56, Number 743:
Narrated Abu Juhaifa:
I saw the Prophet, and Al-Hasan resembled him.

Volume 4, Book 56, Number 744:
Narrated Isma’il bin Abi Khalid:
I heard Abu Juhaifa saying, “I saw the Prophet, and Al-Hasan bin ‘Ali resembled him.” I said to Abu- Juhaifa, “Describe him for me.” He said, “He was white and his beard was black with some white hair. He promised to give us 13 young she-camels, but he expired before we could get them.”

SAHIH MUSLIM:
Muslim (full name Abul Husain Muslim bin al-Hajjaj al-Nisapuri) was born in 202 A.H. and died in 261 A.H. He travelled widely to gather his collection of ahadith, including to Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Syria, and Egypt. Out of 300,000 ahadith that he evaluated, only 4,000 approximately were extracted for inclusion into his collection based on stringent acceptance criteria. Muslim was a student of Bukhari

Chapter 4: THE MERITS OF ‘ALI B. ABI TALIB (ALLAH BE PLEASED WITH HIM)

Book 031, Number 5920:
Yazid b. Hayyan reported, I went along with Husain b. Sabra and ‘Umar b. Muslim to Zaid b. Arqam and, as we sat by his side, Husain said to him: Zaid you have been able to acquire a great virtue that you saw Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) listened to his talk, fought by his side in (different) battles, offered prayer behind me. Zaid, you have in fact earned a great virtue. Zaid, narrate to us what you heard from Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him). He said: I have grown old and have almost spent my age and I have forgotten some of the things which I remembered in connection with Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him), so accept whatever I narrate to you, and which I do not narrate do not compel me to do that. He then said: One day Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) stood up to deliver sermon at a watering place known as Khumm situated between Mecca and Medina. He praised Allah, extolled Him and delivered the sermon and. exhorted (us) and said: Now to our purpose. O people, I am a human being. I am about to receive a messenger (the angel of death) from my Lord and I, in response to Allah’s call, (would bid good-bye to you), but I am leaving among you two weighty things: the one being the Book of Allah in which there is right guidance and light, so hold fast to the Book of Allah and adhere to it. He exhorted (us) (to hold fast) to the Book of Allah and then said: The second are the members of my household I remind you (of your duties) to the members of my family. He (Husain) said to Zaid: Who are the members of his household? Aren’t his wives the members of his family? Thereupon he said: His wives are the members of his family (but here) the members of his family are those for whom acceptance of Zakat is forbidden. And he said: Who are they? Thereupon he said: ‘Ali and the offspring of ‘Ali, ‘Aqil and the offspring of ‘Aqil and the offspring of Ja’far and the offspring of ‘Abbas. Husain said: These are those for whom the acceptance of Zakat is forbidden. Zaid said: Yes.

Book 031, Number 5921:
This hadith has been narrated on the authority of Zaid b. Arqam through another chain of transmitters.

Book 031, Number 5922:
This hadith has been transmitted on the authority of Abu Hayyan but with this addition:” The Book of Allah contains right guidance, the light, and whoever adheres to it and holds it fast, he is upon right guidance

and whosoever deviates from it goes astray.

Book 031, Number 5913:

Amir b Sa’d b. Abi Waqqas reported on the authority of his father that Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) while addressing Ali said: You are in the same position with relation to me as Aaron- (Harun) was in relation to Moses but with (this explicit difference) that there is no prophet after me. Sa’d said: I had an earnest desire to hear it directly from Sa’d, so I met him and narrated to him what (his son) Amir had narrated to me, whereupon he said: Yes, I did hear it. I said: Did you hear it yourself? Thereupon he placed his fingers upon his ears and said: Yes, and if not, let both my ears become deaf.

Book 031, Number 5914:
Sa’d b. Abi Waqqas reported that Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) left ‘Ali b. Abi Talib behind him (as he proceeded) to the expedition of Tabuk, whereupon he (‘Ali) said: Allah’s Messenger, are you leaving me behind amongst women and children? Thereupon he (the Holy Prophet) said: Aren’t you satisfied with being unto me what Aaron was unto Moses but with this exception that there would be no prophet after me?

Book 031, Number 5915:
This hadith has been narrated on the authority of Shu’ba with the same chain of transmitters. Amir b. Sa’d b. Abi Waqqas reported on the authority of his father that Muawiya b. Abi Sufyin appointed Sa’d as the Governor and said: What prevents you from abusing Abu Turab (Hadrat ‘Ali), whereupon he said: It is because of three things which I remember Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) having said about him that I would not abuse him and even if I find one of those three things for me, it would be more dear to me than the red camel. I heard Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) say about ‘Ali as he left him behind in one of his campaigns (that was Tabuk). Ali said to him: Allah’s Messenger, you leave me behind along with women and children. Thereupon Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) said to him: Aren’t you satisfied with being unto me what Aaron was unto Moses but with this exception that there is no Prophethood after me? And I (also) heard him say on the Day of Khaibar: I would certainly give this standard to a person who loves Allah and his Messenger and Allah and his Messenger love him too. He (the narrator) said: We have been anxiously waiting for it, when he (the Holy Prophet) said: Call ‘Ali. He was called and his eyes were inflamed. He applied saliva to his eyes and handed over the standard to him, and Allah gave him victory. (The third occasion is this) when the (following) verse was revealed:” Let us summon our children and your children.” Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) called ‘Ali, Fatima, Hasan and Husain and said: O Allah, these are my family.

Book 031, Number 5917:
Suhail reported on the authority of Abu Huraira that Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) said on the Day of Khaibar: I shall certainly give this standard in the hand of one who loves Allah and his Messenger and Allah will grant victory at his hand. Umar b. Khattab said: Never did I cherish for leadership but on that day. I came before him with the hope that I may be called for this, but Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) called ‘Ali b. Abu Talib and he conferred (this honour) upon him and said: Proceed on and do not look about until Allah grants you victory, and ‘Ali went a bit and then halted and did not look about and then said in a loud voice: Allah’s Messenger, on what issue should I fight with the people? Thereupon he (the Prophet) said: Fight with them until they bear testimony to the fact that there is no god but Allah and Muhammad is his Messenger, and when they do that then their blood and their riches are inviolable from your hands but what is justified by law and their reckoning is with Allah.


Book 031, Number 5919:

Salama b. Akwa’ reported that it was ‘Ali whom Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) left behind him (in the charge of his family and the Islamic State) on the occasion of the campaign of Khaibar, and his eyes were inflamed and he said: Is it for me to remain behind Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him)? So he went forth and rejoined Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) and on the evening of that night (after which) next morning Allah granted victory. Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) said: I will certainly give this standard to a man whom Allah and His Messenger love, or he said: Who loves Allah or His Messenger and Allah will grant him victory through him, and, lo, we saw ‘Ali whom we least expected (to be present on that occasion). They (the Companions) said: Here is ‘Ali. Thereupon Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) gave him the standard. Allah granted victory at his hand. Book 031, Number 5923:
Yazid b. Hayyan reported: We went to him (Zaid b. Arqam) and said to him. You have found goodness (for you had the honour) to live in the company of Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) and offered prayer behind him, and the rest of the hadith is the same but with this variation of wording that lie said: Behold, for I am leaving amongst you two weighty things, one of which is the Book of Allah, the Exalted and Glorious, and that is the rope of Allah. He who holds it fast would be on right guidance and he who abandons it would be in error, and in this (hadith) these words are also found: We said: Who are amongst the members of the household? Aren’t the wives (of the Holy Prophet) included amongst the members of his household? Thereupon he said: No, by Allah, a woman lives with a man (as his wife) for a certain period; he then divorces her and she goes back to her parents and to her people; the members of his household include his ownself and his kith and kin (who are related to him by blood) and for him the acceptance of Zakat is prohibited.

Book 031, Number 5924:
Sahl b. Sa’d reported that a person from the offspring of Marwan was appointed as the governor of Medina. He called Sahl b. Sa’d and ordered him to abuse All Sahl refused to do that. He (the governor) said to him: If you do not agree to it (at least) say: May Allah curse Abu Turab. Sahl said: There was no name dearer to All than Abu Turab (for it was given to him by the Holy Prophet himself) and he felt delighted when he was called by this name. He (the governor) said to him: Narrate to us the story of his being named as Abu Turab. He said: Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) came to the house of Fatima and he did not find ‘Ali in the house; whereupon he said: Where is your uncle’s son? She said: (There cropped up something) between me and him which had annoyed him. He went out and did not rest here. Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) said to a person to find out where he was. He came and said: Allah’s Messenger, he is sleeping in the mosque. Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) came to him and found him lying in the mosque and saw that his mantle had slipped from his back and his back was covered with dust and Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) began to wipe it away from him (from the body of Hadhrat ‘Ali) saying: Get up, covered with dust; get up, covered with dust.

 

THE MERITS OF HASAN AND HUSAIN (ALLAH BE PLEASED WITH BOTH OF THEM)

Book 031, Number 5951:
Abu Huraira reported Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) as saying to Hasan: O Allah, behold, I love him. Thou too love him and love one who loves him.

Book 031, Number 5952:
Abu Huraira reported: I went along with Allalh’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) at a time during the day but he did not talk to me and I did not talk to him until he reached Bazar of Banfi Qainuqal. He came back to the tent of Fatima and said: Is the little chap (meaning Hasan) there? We were under the impression that his mother had detained him in order to bathe him and dress him and garland him with a sweet garland. Not much time had passed that he (Hasan) came running until both of them embraced each other, thereupon Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) said: O Allah, I love him; love him Thou and love one who loves him (Hasan).

Book 031, Number 5953:
Al-Bara’ b. Azib reported: I saw Hasan b. ‘Ali upon the shoulders of Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) and he was saying: O Allah, I love him, and love him Thou.

Book 031, Number 5954:
Iyas reported on the authority of his father: I (had the honour of) leading the white mule on which rode Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) and with him were Hasan and Husain, till it reached the apartment of Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him). The one amongst them was seated before him and the other one was seated behind him.

Chapter 9: THEE MERITS OF THE FAMILY OF THE PROPHET (MAY PEACE BE UPON HIM)

Book 031, Number 5955:
‘A’isha reported that Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) went out one morning wearing a striped cloak of the black camel’s hair that there came Hasan b. ‘Ali. He wrapped himself under it, then came Husain and he wrapped him under it along with the other one (Hasan). Then came Fatima and he took her under it,

then came ‘Ali and he also took him under it and then said: Allah only desires to take away any uncleanliness from you, O people of the household, and purify you (thorough purifying)

THE MERITS OF FATIMA, DAUGHTER OF ALLAH’S APOSTLE (MAY PEACE BE UPON HIM)

Book 031, Number 6000:
Miswar b. Makhramah reported Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) as saying: Fatima is a part of me. He in fact tortures me who tortures her.

Book 031, Number 6003:
‘A’isha reported that Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) called his daughter Fatima (during his last illness). He said something to her secretly and she wept. He again said to her something secretly and she laughed. ‘A’isha further reported that she said to Fatima: What is that which Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) said to you secretly and you wept and then said to you something secretly and you laughed? Thereupon she said: He informed me secretly of his death and so I wept. He then again informed me secretly that I would be the first amongst the members of his family to follow him and so I laughed.

Book 031, Number 6004:
‘A’isha reported: We, the wives of Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him), were with him (during his last illness) and none was absent there from that Fatima, who walked after the style of Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him), came there, and when he saw her he welcomed her saying: You are welcome, my daughter. He then made her sit on his right side or on his left side. Then he said something secretly to her and she wept bitterly and when he found her (plunged) in grief he said to her something secretly for the second time and she laughed. I (‘A’isha) said to her: Allah’s Messenger has singled you amongst the women (of the family) for talking (to you something secretly) and you wept. When Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) recovered from illness, I said to her. What did Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) say to you? Thereupon she said: I am not going to disclose the secret of Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him). When Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) died, I said to her: I adjure you by the right that I

have upon you that you should narrate to me what Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) said to you. She said: Yes, now I can do that (so listen to it). When he talked to me secretly for the first time he informed me that Gabriel was in the habit of reciting the Qur’an along with him once or twice every year, but this year it had been twice and so he perceived his death quite near, so fear Allah and be patient (and he told me) that he would be a befitting forerunner for me and so I wept as you saw me. And when he saw me in grief he talked to me secretly for the second time and said: Fatima, are you not pleased that you should be at the head of the believing women or the head of this Umma? I laughed and it was that laughter which you saw.

Book 031, Number 6005:
‘A’isha reported that all the wives of Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) had gathered (in her apartment) during the days of his (Prophet’s) last illness and no woman was left behind when Fatima, who walked after the style of Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him), came there. He welcomed her by saying: You are welcome, my daughter, and made her sit on his right side or on his left side, and then talked something secretly to her and Fatima wept. Then he talked something secretly to her and she laughed. I said to her: What makes you weep? She said; I am not going to divulge the secret of Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him). I (‘A’isha) said: I have not seen (anything happening) like today, the happiness being more close to grief (as I see today) when she wept. I said to her: Has Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) singled you out for saying something leaving us aside? She then wept and I asked her what he said, and she said: I am not going to divulge the secrets of Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him). And when he died I again asked her and she said that he (the Holy Prophet) told her: Gabriel used to recite the Qur’an to me once a year and for this year it was twice and so I perceived that my death had drawn near, and that I (Fatima) would be the first amongst the members of his family who would meet him (in the Hereafter). He shall be my good forerunner and it made me weep. He again talked to me secretly (saying): Aren’t you pleased that you should be the sovereign amongst the believing women or the head of women of this Umma? And this made me laugh.

 

 

 

 

      

Leave a Reply

