How can I change the world?


How can I change the world?

When I was young and free and my imagination had no limits,
I dreamt of changing the world.

As I grew older and wiser,
I realized the world would not change
and I decided to shorten my sight somewhat and change only my country.
But it too seemed immovable.

 

As I entered my twilight years, in one last desperate attempt,
I tought to change only my family,
those closest to me,
but alas they would have none of it.

 

And now here I lie on my death bed and realize
(perhaps for the first time)
that if only I’d changed myself first,
then by example I may have implement my family
and with their encouragement and support,
I may have bettered my country
and who knows I may have changed the world.

 

Inna Allaha la yughayyiru ma biqawmin hatta yughayyiroo ma bianfusihim

Verily never will Allah change the condition of a people until they change it themselves (with their own souls).(Quran: Surah Ar Ra’d 13:11)

by Uzma Saleem (Toronto)

Leave a Reply

